HQAL: T Block Update And More

It’s that time again – the 3 week update on our hand quilting project. I have been working steady on the ‘T’ quilt for some time. With so many other projects on the table ~ I am so thankful for the accountability to update and post on this project. You keep me on target and moving forward. So before I show you what I have done I just wanted to say……..

Thanksgiving12

Welcome to Bella, Daisy and Connie

welcome2

 

I completed 6 more blocks.

 

Last check in I had completed these 5. I was so happy I had taken the advice of the group and framed in the squares. I love the look of the blocks now.

I have 11 blocks completed of the 16 needed. With 5 left and everything cut out, I know I can have a big end of the year finish and move on to piecing her together.

A quick update on the pink and green baby quilt ~ baby was born on Oct 30th, arriving on Grandpa’s birthday; what a gift 🙂 No name yet – parents have 30 days to decide. I haven’t had the chance to see ‘baby girl’ for myself and gift is still waiting to be given. Soon though!

It’s must be the year of baby quilts because I have another one started. Not in the HQAL but being hand quilted just the same. The pink above was for a nephew, the grey, yellow, turquoise for a granddaughter and her first, Wyatt, born in June and this one below is for another granddaughter expecting her first. I thought I would give you a sneak peak at what I am working on.

I haven’t decided  how I am going to put them together but I am leaning towards a very narrow white binding. ‘Mommy’ picked her color choices. Grey and turquoise seem to be very popular right now.

26

 

 

This Hand Quilt Along is an opportunity for hand quilters and piecers to share and motivate one another. We post every three weeks, to show our progress and encourage one another.  If you have a hand quilting project and would like to join our group contact Kathy at the link below.

Kathy, MargaretEmmaTracyDeb,Susan,  Nanette,  EdithSharon,
Karrin, Gretchen, Kathi,  Bella, Daisy and Connie

 

 

17 thoughts on “HQAL: T Block Update And More

  1. kathyreeves November 10, 2019 / 2:20 pm

    The T blocks with the sashing are GORGEOUS! You have become Baby quilt Central this fall! I too, and thankful that this group keeps me moving forward. It would be easy to set things aside when I don’t know what to do, but knowing everyone will provide helpful input makes a big difference! XX

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nwpaintedlady November 10, 2019 / 3:34 pm

    Thank you Kathy… love the group 🙂 It was all put to the side before I joined the group. Hugs

    Like

  3. Karrin Hurd November 10, 2019 / 4:46 pm

    Beautiful blocks, and great work!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Deb November 10, 2019 / 6:38 pm

    I’m amazed at how much you get done by hand with no sewing machine involved! Those blocks are wonderful, and I love the gray and turquoise together .

    Liked by 1 person

    • nwpaintedlady November 11, 2019 / 2:01 pm

      Love your comment because I feel like I am slow as molasses getting stuff done hand stitching. You’ve boosted my confidence ~ thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Texas Quilter November 11, 2019 / 3:12 am

    Sharon, putting that border on each block will make that quilt pop! The baby missed my birthday by 1 day – Add another Scorpio to the world! Good! Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    • KerryCan November 11, 2019 / 12:27 pm

      Missed my birthday by one day, too, Nanette! Were you born on the 29th?

      Liked by 1 person

    • nwpaintedlady November 11, 2019 / 1:53 pm

      Happy Birthday 🙂 A great birthday month 🙂 I’ll be adding a border for sure 🙂

      Like

  6. KerryCan November 11, 2019 / 12:29 pm

    You’re really humming along now! The T blocks are really looking so good and I am thinking we’ll be seeing the finished top really soon! And I love the gray and teal woodland fabric–it’s so sweet. Yes, gray seems all the rage for babies these days–whoda thunk?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • nwpaintedlady November 11, 2019 / 1:42 pm

      I have not seen baby Wyatt in anything but grays, blacks, browns navy…..grey and subdued – whoa thunk is right 🙂

      Like

  7. Bella G. Bear November 14, 2019 / 8:04 pm

    You really use nice patterns with good fabric combinations. I love how all your quilts get a different look because of the fabric choices. Looking forward to all the other quilts you’ll be making

    Like

  8. Susan Nixon November 17, 2019 / 4:01 am

    Hand stitching is a slower pace, but so calming, I think. You’ve done really well to get so many pieced in only three weeks. When I’m doing hand work, my mind wanders all over the place. Does yours do that, too?

    Liked by 1 person

    • nwpaintedlady November 17, 2019 / 1:27 pm

      It use to be the perfect time to let my mind wander and ponder but now all I do is binge watch some series on netflix or the like 🙂 Hugs Susan

      Like

I would love to hear from you

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.