SAL: East West Sampler Update #7

At our last post my East West Sampler looked like this

I had added the star block and the row of tiny stitches. I had placed the star from the pattern in the wrong position and the tiny row seemed so, well, just wrong. I decided to leave the star but removed the tiny row. Taking crafters liberty and sampler creating of old, I have gone rogue, but in a good way. Here is where I am now.

I am not quite done yet. Still planning on adding the date and perhaps a 1, 2, 3 or A, B, C. Then the moment comes to play a game of truth or dare with this. Should I leave it as is ? or tea or coffee dye to age this creation? Any suggestions on that?

Thank you so much for stopping to visit with me today. I’d love it if you would join me in visiting the others in this SAL by clicking on the links below.

AvisClaireGunChristinaKathyMargaretJackieSunnyMeganDeborahSharon,

DaisyCathieLindaMaryMargaretCindy

About the SAL

Please note this SAL is not accepting any more new members until further notice but this is what it’s all about anyway. This SAL (Stitch Along) is slightly different to other SALs in that we don’t all stitch the same design at the same rate. We choose ONE unfinished project, or ONE new one, and show progress of its completion over a series of three weekly updates. There are no deadlines and no set amount to stitch. The result is that the space in our drawers full of WIPs (works in progress) is gradually being freed up to store lots of new crafty goodness. It’s surprising how much motivation I’ve gained from being in this SAL.

14 thoughts on “SAL: East West Sampler Update #7

  1. Laura June 9, 2024 / 5:31 pm

    You may have gone rogue but this looks great! I think tea-dyed would be fun, but it is a more primitive look, so make sure that you like that look (I do, and I think that you do, too.). 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon June 9, 2024 / 7:21 pm

      Hi Laura ~ TY ~ Yes the primitive look is exactly what I am going for. Do you have an opinion on tea vs coffee dying for this?

      Like

      • Laura June 9, 2024 / 11:29 pm

        I don’t have any experience with coffee dying. In my imagination, I don’t see the difference. Maybe coffee dying is stronger, so I might pay closer attention to the amount of coffee used, or the time that I leave it in there? Melissa at pinkernpunkinquilting.blogspot.com does a lot of tea dyeing. You might like to check with her.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Sharon June 10, 2024 / 12:35 am

          Thank you for that suggestion 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. claire93 June 9, 2024 / 6:02 pm

    Brilliant! Looks like you’re almost finished. I’d have a trial run of dyeing with a piece of scrap if you have any.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon June 9, 2024 / 7:22 pm

      TY Claire ~Great idea. I am not sure I have exactly the same fabric piece but something similar for sure.

      Like

    • Sharon June 10, 2024 / 12:45 am

      I need to do some research (google) aging cross stitch projects . I will be sure to let everyone know 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sewing Beside the Sea June 10, 2024 / 7:00 pm

    I’d be too much of a chicken to dye the fabric after I’d stitched it LOL. Your additional rows of triangles make me happy. They remind me of bunting wafting in the breeze 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon June 11, 2024 / 6:32 pm

      As I get closer to dyeing it I am feeling a bit chickenish myself 🙂 I love the bunting rows 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Karrin Hurd June 16, 2024 / 3:18 pm

    Beautiful stitching and great progress!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon June 16, 2024 / 7:44 pm

      Thank you so much Karrin 🙂

      Like

I would love to hear from you

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.