SAL: East West Sampler Update # 5

Welcome back to this SAL update for my East West Sampler

At our last posting the sampler looked like this. I had completed the border.

My time has been split between a few quilting and junk journaling projects but I am real pleased with the progress I’ve made in these past 3 weeks. I have added the blue star medallions and the sweet border below the Home Is Best. Actually in looking at the directions the placement of the heart border is misplaced. A crease in the paper looked like the dividing line under the home is best but it should have been centered between the two blue lines. I am going to keep this for now and maybe add something into the blank spaces later. I’ll wait to see as the project progresses.

Thank you for stopping by and visiting with me today. If you have some time you can join me in visiting with the others in the SAL. There are some amazing projects in the works.

AvisClaireGunChristinaKathyMargaretJackieSunnyMeganDeborah

SharonDaisyCathieLindaMaryMargaretCindy

Our next updates will be posted on the 19th May 2024.

About the SAL

Please note this SAL is not accepting any more new members until further notice but this is what it’s all about anyway. This SAL (Stitch Along) is slightly different to other SALs in that we don’t all stitch the same design at the same rate. We choose ONE unfinished project, or ONE new one, and show progress of its completion over a series of three weekly updates. There are no deadlines and no set amount to stitch. The result is that the space in our drawers full of WIPs (works in progress) is gradually being freed up to store lots of new crafty goodness. It’s surprising how much motivation I’ve gained from being in this SAL.

22 thoughts on “SAL: East West Sampler Update # 5

  1. Laura April 28, 2024 / 4:19 pm

    I never would have known the difference, Sharon. It is looking very nice! 🙂

    Like

  2. Christina April 28, 2024 / 6:31 pm

    Great job getting some stitches in, especially with other projects in the works!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon April 28, 2024 / 7:36 pm

      Thank you so much Christina 🙂

      Like

  3. Sharon April 28, 2024 / 7:31 pm

    Thanks Laura – I know it is such a subtle change it really doesn’t change anything at all 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sunnydelaney April 28, 2024 / 8:45 pm

    I think having the heart border where it is makes it look like hanging bunting 🙂 Great progress, too!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Sharon April 28, 2024 / 8:55 pm

    I am so glad you said that, I thought that too and one of the reasons I left it that way. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon April 29, 2024 / 2:37 pm

      I am concerned about the space below, do you think it is to empty looking?

      Like

  6. claire93 April 29, 2024 / 10:24 am

    I agree, the crease that created a miscount, doesn’t detract at all from the design!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon April 29, 2024 / 2:35 pm

      Thank you Claire, I agree it does not distract but is the empty space too much?

      Like

      • claire93 April 29, 2024 / 6:35 pm

        You could always add something to the empty space at the end if it looks too empty lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Sewing Beside the Sea April 29, 2024 / 2:21 pm

    I wouldn’t have spotted the counting error if you hadn’t mentioned it. It’s lovely. I would leave it as it is 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon April 29, 2024 / 2:33 pm

      Thank you Avis. It looks like bunting flags and will left in place 🙂

      Like

  8. Cathie J May 2, 2024 / 3:13 pm

    This is such a pretty piece. You have made a lot of progress.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon May 5, 2024 / 7:53 pm

      Thank you so much Nanette. I am having fun working on this one 🙂

      Like

  9. craftycreeky May 15, 2024 / 7:19 pm

    Great progress! Would it work to just stitch a second green zigzag in the space?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon May 17, 2024 / 8:11 pm

      Thats a great idea, thank you

      Like

I would love to hear from you

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.