SAL: East West Sampler Update #6

Update time once again and I don’t have too much to report on. It has been a busy last three weeks for me. Some beautiful weather calling me to the garden, a mini trip from Washington State to North Carolina to see my daughter and family, and adopting a new fur baby but….. I did get a bit of X stitch in on my East West sampler.

At our last posting I shared this picture. I had added the mini hearts, green zig zag and blue line.

Here is what I accomplished this time.

I am hoping during this next 3 week period I will be making some better progress. I have the proportions of that tiny started row wrong and I will be reevaluating and possibly frogging it. Honestly I have the placement of the red and blue star wrong as well. I was thinking, in the days of primitive sampler creators, they didn’t have written directions to follow so I am keeping it there and will move across the bottom with it. I am also planning on aging this when completed, either by tea or coffee dying it. It’s a WIP and I am having fun!

Thank you so much for visiting with me today. Now I am off to begin checking in with the others in this SAL. Won’t you join me by clicking on the links below

Avis, Claire, Gun, Christina, Kathy, Margaret, Jackie, Sunny, Megan, Deborah, 

Sharon, Daisy, Cathie, Linda, MaryMargaret, Cindy

About the SAL

Please note this SAL is not accepting any more new members until further notice but this is what it’s all about anyway. This SAL (Stitch Along) is slightly different to other SALs in that we don’t all stitch the same design at the same rate. We choose ONE unfinished project, or ONE new one, and show progress of its completion over a series of three weekly updates. There are no deadlines and no set amount to stitch. The result is that the space in our drawers full of WIPs (works in progress) is gradually being freed up to store lots of new crafty goodness. It’s surprising how much motivation I’ve gained from being in this SAL.

18 thoughts on “SAL: East West Sampler Update #6

  1. Cathie J May 19, 2024 / 2:56 pm

    I love that you are just going with the flow on this piece. It is looking very pretty. I hope you enjoyed your trip. Would love to see a pick of the new fur baby. Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon May 19, 2024 / 8:15 pm

      Definitely going with the flow on this. The posting prior to this one on the blog has a picture of ‘Gus’ if you want to take a look. But I’ll try and remember to get a picture or two of him next posting 🙂

      Like

  2. claire93 May 19, 2024 / 4:37 pm

    you’re right there Sharon! in the days of primitive samplers, they just made things up as they went along, and use their fabric as a way to learn different stitches and techniques. The important thing is to be having fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon May 19, 2024 / 8:16 pm

      🙂 Thank you Claire lol making working this one on a wing and a prayer for sure 🙂

      Like

    • Sharon May 20, 2024 / 1:28 pm

      I hadn’t thought of that in that way ~ wow ~ thank you for pointing it out 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • marymargaretripley May 19, 2024 / 11:30 pm

      Oops I hit send before I was finished lol. Lots going on and with a new fur baby no wonder your interest was elsewhere. Enjoy it all and can’t wait to see the aging with the tea or coffee.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sharon May 20, 2024 / 1:33 pm

        Our new fur baby is a re home and is 2 1/2. He is definitely keeping us on our toes 🙂

        Like

  3. Laura May 20, 2024 / 4:43 pm

    Aging the fabric is a great idea, Sharon! It will compliment the primitive style that you are going for! You went to NC! Lucky girl! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon May 21, 2024 / 2:40 pm

      It was a quick 6 day trip but worth every memory making moment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sewing Beside the Sea May 20, 2024 / 5:09 pm

    As I was reading about your new fur baby I was thinking “I hope it’s a dog” and had to scroll down to read your previous post. Please post a photo of Gus in your stitching posts. I bet you won’t have much time for stitching now hahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon May 21, 2024 / 2:39 pm

      lol you hit the nail on the head, he is keeping us hopping!

      Like

  5. Texas Quilter May 21, 2024 / 5:41 pm

    Doing great Sharon! Is frogging the word when “ripping” stitches in Cross Stitch – LOL. I guess then I am a BIG FROGGER! HUGS

    Liked by 1 person

  6. sunnydelaney May 26, 2024 / 8:18 pm

    I think you’re right — the people making these samplers originally were laying them out as they liked. Any alterations you do are making it your design. 🙂 Sorry for the loss of your fur baby, but great to see pics of Gus. Looking forward to seeing more of him in the coming months!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon May 26, 2024 / 9:09 pm

      I have gone rogue on the sampler since posting adding my own designs 🙂 Excited to be posting it again with the changes

      Like

I would love to hear from you

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.