HQAL: Log Cabin

At our last posting I showed you this picture of the my log cabin quilt. I had finished piecing all the blocks together.

As you can see above it looks like I created sashing but I haven’t. It is the blocks. In my construction of this I should have added that step.

For this posting, first I added on to the bottom and right side with the coordinating material of the block to balance the off balance look (of the photo above) I lost the look of a larger block since that light green material looked like the sashing once I pieced it all together. I am not unhappy with it, it’s a lesson learned πŸ™‚ Next, from my stash I found the perfect fabric and added a (real) 3″ border. I now have the top portion completed.

Below is a close up of the perfect coordinating fabric I chose.

I have two different fabric choices for the backing. I may have enough of one to use but if not I am going to split down the middle and have the backing with two different fabrics.

I hope everyone is beginning to lean into glorious spring weather. I am looking forward to more sunny warmer days here. It’s still a bit colder than I like and far too much rain still. Now, off to visit the pages of the other hand quilters and catch up on all their wonderful projects. Until next time πŸ™‚

Hand Quilt Along Links

This Hand Quilt Along is an opportunity for hand quilters and piecers to share and motivate one another. We post every three weeks, to show our progress and encourage one another.  If you have a hand quilting project and would like to join our group contact Kathy at the link below.

KathyMargaretDebNanetteSharonKarrinGretchenDaisyConnie, and Sherrie

13 thoughts on “HQAL: Log Cabin

  1. Deb March 28, 2021 / 8:55 pm

    A very lovely top at that! We are having more like summer weather( 85*)which I’m not ready for…. wishing for more 70 degree weather. Right now it tornado time in the south.. so far we have been blessed with no more than heavy rains.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon March 29, 2021 / 3:13 pm

      I am so longing for some more sunny days, warmth and outdoor time. I have been hearing about tornadoes – stay safe πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. kathyreeves March 28, 2021 / 10:45 pm

    I think it’s looking just grand Sharon! We had gorgeous weather today, we walked around the park this afternoon with just a sweater!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon March 29, 2021 / 3:18 pm

      Thank you Kathy ~ I am so ready for glorious weather. We have had a few sweater days but nothing consistent. Yesterday was gloves, scarf and heavy coat and rain πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • kathyreeves March 30, 2021 / 9:16 pm

        I hear you, it’s 38 right now, and we had crazy wind and fires just 6 miles away yesterday! Crazy!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Sharon April 1, 2021 / 1:54 pm

          Hope the weathers recovered and not much fire damage too

          Liked by 1 person

        • kathyreeves April 1, 2021 / 2:09 pm

          Today is 72 and we’ve now had enough gentle breeze to blow the smoke away.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Susan Nixon March 29, 2021 / 12:15 am

    Those fabrics are all perfect together. Considering that you were re-purposing an older kit, it is doubly amazing you found such great fabrics to work with it. Spring is definitely here – thought there are still a few chilly days coming, but most days are in the high 60s and low 70s and I’m good with that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon March 29, 2021 / 3:21 pm

      Hi Susan ~ I was really pleased with my stash collection and choice of fabrics I had to add to this project. I tend to gravitate to the same colors all the time so I was lucky this kit was in my color wheel. Oh 60’s and 70’s would be glorious and I am anxious for those temps πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. craftycreeky March 29, 2021 / 7:46 pm

    It’s looking great, as you say you found the perfect fabric for the border. We’re having some warm sunny days at the moment, enjoying the garden while it lasts

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon March 29, 2021 / 10:49 pm

      Thank you! Enjoy your beautiful sunny weather for me πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Texas Quilter March 30, 2021 / 12:32 pm

    Looks great! I really like the colors and you did a great job! Now for the fun part – quilting! Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon March 30, 2021 / 1:58 pm

      Thanks Nanette – yes the fun part πŸ™‚ Excited to get to that point. Still hanging on my ‘design curtain’ πŸ™‚

      Like

I would love to hear from you

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.