Quilt for Baby Wyatt

A new project has begun, my favorite kind, Baby Quilts! This one is for my granddaughter Heather and her husband Trent; expecting their first baby ~ a boy.

Shhhhhh….it’s a surprise and good thing she doesn’t follow along on my blog so I can share the excitement of this new project.

I decided to use the very basic pinwheel pattern and will make it light weight with no batting.

First I choose this sweet fleece backing and then added the my material choice. The sashing will be in light gray.

I’ll use wide satan blanket binding finished with a very thin trim in gray (pom pom’s) I wanted to add a border but since baby is a boy I did not want anything to frilly. I found this Simplicity trim which was perfect.

 

79

I actually made a crutial error in picking my material with the patterned baby bear. Not enough bears to cut out and the pattern was lost in the pinwheel. I could have gotten more material but I decided to add a 4 patch which I will also do with the turquoise material.

81.jpg

Before beginning and testing my pattern pieces I worked these two sweet wheels. I just love the rainbow material, I have so much of it, soooooo another baby blanket is in the future. This one for a baby girl, extra frilly with a wonderful wide lace border.

80

Speaking baby blankets ~ this one is going home as a gift ~ baby shower tomorrow night for the nephew of my husband and his wife!

The Forever Home

I wanted to share this post by blogger Isabella Eisenbeil who I have had the blessings of connecting with this past year. Her story of the reproduction Double T quilt has been a journey I am so happy to say I have had the chance to follow. Not only that, but this quilt was the beginnings of the T Quilt Along I am participating in led by Isabella. It’s not to late to join along. ~ Sharon