Progress In The Making On The Log Cabin Rework

I am making progress on the Log Cabin rework for my neighbor Velma. You may remember I had been gifted these hand-sewn log cabin blocks.

They reeked of moth-ball odor but stood up well to numerous washings in vinegar and baking soda and then a umpteenth rewash for lingering odor.

I decided on these two fabrics to sash the blocks together changing my mind from the bland white and brown original pick.

69

All pieced together now and looking handsome if I may say so myself.

68

Now to move on to the batting and backing. I am recycling a thin fleece type throw blanket for the batting and the same material as the lighter large outer L of the square for the backing. Since these blocks had already been quilted to a solid peach material, I am debating on what actually to hand quilt. I am thinking just on the outside of each square on the sashing. It’s been a fun project and I exciting to get it done and on the lap of Velma.

 

©, 2019, copyright, Sharon Haimowitz-Civitano. All rights reserved.