Progress In The Making On The Log Cabin Rework

I am making progress on the Log Cabin rework for my neighbor Velma. You may remember I had been gifted these hand-sewn log cabin blocks.

They reeked of moth-ball odor but stood up well to numerous washings in vinegar and baking soda and then a umpteenth rewash for lingering odor.

I decided on these two fabrics to sash the blocks together changing my mind from the bland white and brown original pick.

69

All pieced together now and looking handsome if I may say so myself.

68

Now to move on to the batting and backing. I am recycling a thin fleece type throw blanket for the batting and the same material as the lighter large outer L of the square for the backing. Since these blocks had already been quilted to a solid peach material, I am debating on what actually to hand quilt. I am thinking just on the outside of each square on the sashing. It’s been a fun project and I exciting to get it done and on the lap of Velma.

 

©, 2019, copyright, Sharon Haimowitz-Civitano. All rights reserved.

8 thoughts on “Progress In The Making On The Log Cabin Rework

  1. Isabella January 8, 2019 / 4:09 pm

    Sharon this is looking great! I’m glad you changed your mind on the sashing fabric, I think the brown and orange look perfect. I look forward to seeing what you do next with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • nwpaintedlady January 8, 2019 / 6:10 pm

      Thank you Bella – I am so happy I did too. Totally agree it was the right choice.

      Like

  2. Deb January 8, 2019 / 10:52 pm

    This is looking good! All that hard washing is paying off!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nwpaintedlady January 8, 2019 / 11:06 pm

    Thanks – you made me laugh thinking about all the washing!

    Like

  4. kathyreeves January 9, 2019 / 4:11 am

    That sashing is great! I’m not sure when I missed the start of this project, but wow, have you already done a lot of work! Kudos!

    Liked by 1 person

    • nwpaintedlady January 9, 2019 / 2:17 pm

      I am not sure I had an actually start to this project Kathy. Thank you – I think the sashing came out looking great too. It sewed up pretty quickly as it’s not very large. The double batting is my worry hand stitching, that’s why I am thinking simply around the blocks.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. KerryCan January 10, 2019 / 11:14 am

    The striped fabric is perfect for this! You’re making great progress.

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.