SAL Update: Keeping It Simple

It’s been a crazy 3 weeks ~ I had thought my next project would be to start this Halloween holiday sampler. I never saw directions so tiny. My magnifier didn’t help nor lighting, so I put her aside again.

8

You may remember these little gems I picked up. I started and finished the Cardinal.

5

12

After finishing this and as an afterthought, I am now thinking wouldn’t these make darling tiny pillow ornaments?

While at Joanns, I picked up this simple Cactus kit and decided this would go perfect with  the Owl and the Cactus I did for my daughter a month or so back.

13

 

That about wraps up this SAL update. Please take a moment and enjoy the postings of the others in our group. Just click on the links below. There are some wonderful projects in the works.

 

Avis, Claire, Gun, Carole, Sue, Constanze, Christina, Kathy, Margaret, Cindy, Heidi, Jackie, Sunny, Hayley, Megan, Deborah, Mary Margaret, Renee, Carmela, Jocelyn, Sharon, Daisy, Anne, Connie, AJ, Jenny

About the SAL

This SAL (Stitch Along) is slightly different to other SALs in that we don’t all stitch the same design at the same rate. We choose ONE unfinished project, or ONE new one, and show progress of its completion over a series of three weekly updates. There are no deadlines and no set amount to stitch. The result is that the space in our drawers full of WIPs (works in progress) is gradually being freed up to store lots of new crafty goodness. It’s surprising how much motivation I’ve gained from being in this SAL. If you’d like to finish a project you’ve left unfinished for a while, or start a new one with us, you can join us by contacting Avis. She’ll send you a few simple rules to agree.

31 thoughts on “SAL Update: Keeping It Simple

    • Sharon February 16, 2020 / 5:02 pm

      Wow, that never occurred to me. Thank you for the suggestion. I think it just might work 🙂

      Like

  1. gingerninjacrafts February 16, 2020 / 3:41 pm

    Gorgeous cardinal project, I’m sure it would look beautiful on a little pillow too. Your cactus is the perfect match for the previous one, what a lovely collection she will have! Jenny xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon February 16, 2020 / 5:04 pm

      Thank you Jenny – that is what I was thinking, a collection of cactus … she is a true desert lover 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jocelyn Thurston February 16, 2020 / 3:51 pm

    I’m disappointed Trick or Treat didn’t work out…love Halloween. But yes some projects are baffling in the way instructions are handled.
    Meanwhile you’ve had fun with that gorgeous cardinal which I too think would make a lovely little pillow ornament.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon February 16, 2020 / 5:05 pm

      I had a suggestion to try enlarging the directions on a copy machine (which I would have never thought of) I will give that a try, so I am not giving up yet 🙂

      Like

  3. craftycreeky February 16, 2020 / 5:33 pm

    I think the cardinal will make a lovely ‘cross-stitch small’, the cactus will make a great partner for your earlier one.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. claire93 February 16, 2020 / 8:16 pm

    that cactus will make a lovely twin set with the owl cactus!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. AJ February 16, 2020 / 8:37 pm

    I don’t envy you tiny directions. I am finding I even have to limit my stitching to bright sunny days or I can’t see the holes in the Aida cloth!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon February 16, 2020 / 9:42 pm

      Isn’t that the truth – I totally identify with what your saying 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • AJ February 16, 2020 / 9:42 pm

        I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one

        Like

  6. magpiesue February 16, 2020 / 9:02 pm

    I was going to suggest having the Trick or Treat instructions enlarged too. Hope you can get that done. Meanwhile, the cardinal is a cutie and you simply *must* stitch up that cactus for your daughter!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon February 16, 2020 / 9:42 pm

      I’ll be getting started and cactus #2right away 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Deb February 16, 2020 / 11:26 pm

    The cardinal is a darling,and yes that cactus is a great companion for the owl! Nice price break. Hope that you can enlarge those instructions for easier reading, be ashamed if you couldn’t do it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon February 17, 2020 / 2:23 pm

      You noticed the price 🙂 I just couldn’t pass him up! I plan on getting those directions enlarged. I read the suggestion and thought; duh , where was my head ~ lol

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Christina February 17, 2020 / 12:57 am

    Cute Cardinal! And yes, that cactus will be a perfect companion piece 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon February 17, 2020 / 2:19 pm

      Thank you – I felt lucky to find this 2nd cactus and at a great reduced price too 🙂

      Like

  9. Susan Nixon February 17, 2020 / 4:49 am

    Oh, yes, cactus is perfect. Cardinal is wonderful, and would also make a nice little pillow. On those tiny directions? Take them to someplace like Office Max and have them enlarged on 8.5 x 14 pages. They can do that, no blurring. =)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon February 17, 2020 / 2:17 pm

      Someone else had already suggested enlarging the directions which I hadn’t even entered my mind soooo you two are brilliant! Its’s so funny for 30 years working with students (special ed) I was always enlarging print on the copier and here I was totally stumped lol… thank you for the reminder!

      Like

  10. rutigt February 17, 2020 / 9:50 am

    Beautiful Cardinal! And the cactus…… I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. teamwilsun February 18, 2020 / 5:14 am

    The cardinal will be perfect as a pillow ornament, and that cactus piece will be a perfect accessory to the cactus owl! I often have to enlarge instructions for projects — even if only so I can make notes on the instructions!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon February 18, 2020 / 3:26 pm

      For now I think I’ll keep the cardinal as a card but may make the others into pillows. I can’t b believe I hadn’t thought of enlarging the directions – duh!

      Like

  12. Carole February 23, 2020 / 7:24 pm

    That cardinal is so pretty and the cactus is lovely too.
    I’ve had to enlarge charts before now. I can’t be doing with squinting to see what I’m stitching LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon February 23, 2020 / 9:29 pm

      I had never thought of enlarging but now that makes total sense for everything…of course!

      Like

  13. Renee Younger March 8, 2020 / 6:44 am

    Your cardinal looks great! The cactus will definitely go well with the one you stitched for your daughter. Lovely work!

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.